Enjoying a peaceful setting in west Chislehurst, being only 3 minutes walk from Elmstead Woods Station and within easy reach of Central London, Babington House School has a long and fascinating past.
The school was founded in 1887 in North Park, Eltham, by Madame Rossel, a distinguished Belgian lady who was particularly interested in fostering the arts for 'young ladies and small boys'. Among her friends was Lord Thomas Babington Macaulay, the great Victorian writer and politician, whose family name, Babington, was adopted as the name of the School.
With supportive parental loyalty, the school moved to Chislehurst in 1959 and has since been administered as an educational charity by a board of Governors. The present building has long been associated with the family name Bilbrough, known as Elmstead Grange.